Driving safely saves lives and money. The North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) was created by state law to give drivers a financial incentive to practice safe driving habits. SDIP points are charged for convictions and at-fault accidents occurring during the Experience Period (the three-year period preceding either the date an individual applies for coverage or the insurance company prepares to renew an existing policy).
We offer the best rates in Rutherford, McDowell, Burke and Polk Counties for moving violations. While we can usually provide you with a free consultation that would prepare you to handle the matter yourself, the benefit of hiring is avoiding the long lines in court and missing work just to handle a simple traffic matter.
Our experienced speeding and traffic defense attorneys are ready to protect your driving record and your insurance rates! A simple speeding ticket can result in an increase of 30-300 percent to your insurance rates for at least three years. While we can’t guarantee any result, we can provide you a course of action that will result in the best outcome. This may mean you taking a defensive driving course, agreeing to plead guilty to a lower rate of speed, or even requesting a prayer for judgment continued.
If you are an out of state driver, retaining a local attorney is the best way to resolve your traffic matter. While the officer likely advised you of the option to just pay through the mail, that is not your best choice. Over the years we have learned which deals in North Carolina have the best result for your out of state record. For example, we advise on different plea options if you have a Georgia drivers license than if you have a South Carolina license. The reason, the plea we recommend for Georgia clients means the offense will not show up on their driving record while that same plea would on the South Carolina client. Give us a call today to discuss why hiring our firm is the best way to deal with a North Carolina speeding or traffic ticket.
MOVING VIOLATIONS (NOT INCLUDING DWI)
Did you know there is a difference between the points the Department of Motor Vehicles and your insurance company will assess for a moving violation?
Maintaining a clean driving record will pay off! To reward safe drivers with the lowest possible insurance rates, the General Assembly (state legislators) enacted the North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP). Drivers who are convicted of moving traffic violations and/or cause accidents will be charged higher premiums in accordance with their driving records.
Is it better to pay an attorney a one-time fee of to fight for your rights in court or is it better to pay the insurance company an increased rate every few months for three years? The choice is yours!
If convicted of a moving violation you will pay more, either 30 percent or 340 percent, depending on the points assigned to you conviction. The chart below highlights the importance of hiring an experienced traffic law/defense attorney to represent your rights in court. Don’t let the insurance company charge you such an outrageous rate because of a simple mistake, either on your part or the law enforcement officer. The chart shows the increase that your insurance company is authorized to charge you based on simply moving violations if your policy rate is $300.00 per cycle. SDIP points are charged as follows for convictions and at-fault accidents occurring during the Experience Period (prior three years):
The following chart is shows the amount of points your insurance company will place on your driving record if convicted of the corresponding violation.
No SDIP points will be assessed for an accident provided all of the following are true: There is property damage only; The amount of damage is $1,850 or less (prior to October 1, 2017) or $2,300 or less (after October 1, 2017); There is no conviction for a moving violation in connection with the accident; and No licensed operators in the household have convictions or at-fault accidents during the experience period.
No SDIP points will be charged for speeding 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit; provided all of the following are true: The violation did not occur in a school zone; and There is not another moving traffic violation for the experience period. Note, an isolated Prayer for Judgement Continued (PJC) will not count as a prior conviction for the purpose of this exception.
While you may be granted one PJC for each household every three years a second PJC may cause points to be charged according to the underlying convictions. You may be able to escape liability for the first moving violation by receiving a PJC. However, if you or a member of your household receive a second moving violation during the same three year period, then you will be charged SDIP points for both violations.